Arctic region leaders join Arctic state commission
© RIA Novosti. Sergey Mamontov

Arctic region leaders join Arctic state commission

The heads of Russia's Arctic regions have been included in the State Commission for Arctic Development. The composition of the new body, approved by Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev on March 14, has been posted on the government's website, the Arktika-Info news agency reports.

The commission is headed by Deputy Prime Minister Dmitry Rogozin. His deputies are ministers Sergei Donskoi, Alexei Ulyukayev, Dmitry Livanov, Alexander Novak, and Maxim Sokolov, as well as First Deputy Foreign Minister Vladimir Titov.

The commission also includes Sakha (Yakutia) Republic Head Yegor Borisov, Komi Republic Head Vyacheslav Gaizer, Governor of Yamalo-Nenets Autonomous area Dmitry Kobylkin, Governor of Nenets Autonomous Area Igor Koshin, Governor of Chukotka Autonomous Area Roman Kopin, Governor of Murmansk Region Marina Kovtun, Governor of Arkhangelsk Region Igor Orlov, Governor of Krasnoyask Territory Viktor Tolokonsky and Governor of Kamchatka Territory Vladimir Ilyukhin. Furthermore, presidential plenipotentiary envoys in the Ural, Siberian and Northwestern federal districts also joined the commission.

The commission also includes representatives from the Ministry for the Development of the Russian Far East, the Ministry of Construction, Housing and Public Utilities, the Ministry of Industry and Trade, the Ministry of Communications, the Ministry of Civil Defense, Emergencies and Disaster Relief, the Ministry of Justice, the Ministry of Labor and Social Protection, the Ministry of Healthcare, the Russian Security Council, the Federal Security Service (FSB), the Federal Migration Service, the Federal Customs Service, the Federal Service for Drug Control, the Federal Border Service, the Federal Agency for Mineral Resources, the Federal Service for Hydrometeorology and Environmental Monitoring, the Federal Space Agency, the Federal Tourism Agency and the Federal Agency for Fishery.

Representatives from the following companies working in the Arctic have also been included in the commission: Gazprom, Novatek, Lukoil, Norilsk Nickel, Rosneft, Transneft, Atomflot, Sovkomflot, Rosseti and Russian Railways.

Artur Chilingrarov, the president's special representative for international cooperation in the Arctic and Antarctic, and Vyacheslav Shtyrov, a member of the Federation Council Committee for Defense and Security, have also become members of the new commission.

The full list of commission members — a total of 80 — is available on the Russian government's website.