President of Association of Polar Explorers and Russian President's special representative for international cooperation in the Arctic and Antarctic Artur Chilingarov
© Vladimir Trefilov

Moscow hosts celebrations marking Polar Explorer Day

The interregional public organization, Association of Polar Explorers, held celebrations dedicated to Polar Explorer Day, which has been celebrated on May 21 since 2013 in accordance with a presidential executive order.

The Association' Council held a meeting as part of the celebrations. The council is composed of heads of major Russian companies, research and educational institutions, as well as government and public figures. The participants discussed preparations for a congress of the Association of Polar Explorers to be held in December 2016, the arrangements for the sixth forum, The Arctic: Present and Future, slated for December and the creation of the Urals Branch of the Association of Polar Explorers in Yekaterinburg.

The Association of Polar Explorers received congratulatory messages from President Vladimir Putin, the Foreign Ministry, the Defense Ministry, the Security Council, the Federal Agency for Sea and Inland Water Transport, and governors of Russian regions.

In addition, President of Association of Polar Explorers and Russian President's special representative for international cooperation in the Arctic and Antarctic Artur Chilingarov presented honorary mentions and certificates of merit, as well as Honorary Polar Explorer badges. Head of the Federal Service for Hydrometeorology and Environmental Monitoring (Rosgidromet) Alexander Frolov presented  honorary mentions from Rosgidromet to polar explorers who worked on the North Pole-2015 drifting station.

Polar Explorer Day is celebrated in many Russian regions every year, reflecting nationwide unity in matters of preserving and enhancing the wealth of the Russian Arctic zone. Today, there are roughly 2 million people in Russia who are related to the Arctic, including residents of polar regions and professionals who have dedicated their lives to Arctic studies.